Classical Foundations

Cadogan Hall, London, London, United Kingdom

Thursday, May 28, 2020 - 19:30 to 21:30

BEETHOVEN The Ruins of Athens: Overture

BRAHMS Piano Concerto No.2

BIZET Symphony in C major

Jessica Cottis Conductor
Roman Kosyakov (Winner of the 2018 Hastings International Piano Concerto Competition) Piano

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Beethoven’s Overture to his incidental music The Ruins of Athensopens the evening with a portrait ideal of the old world, sublimely represented in Classical style. 2018 Hastings International Piano Concerto Competition Winner Roman Kosyakov provides a thrilling interpretation to Brahms’ Piano Concerto No.2, an extraordinary and colossal work blends intense drama with a lightness of feeling in the exchanges between soloist and orchestra.

Written when the composer was barely seventeen years old, Bizet’s Symphony in C major demonstrates the extraordinary prowess of a youth who had yet to make a name for himself. Inspired heavily by his teacher Gounod, there is the versatility of expression demonstrated in the lyricism of the Adagio and the breathless tempo of the final Allegro Vivo.

This concert is kindly supported by the Fairlight Arts Trust.

United Kingdom
Cadogan Hall, 5 Sloane Terrace, London, SW1X 9DQ