Philharmonia Orchestra - Japan: The Rite of Spring

Hyogo Performing Arts Centre, Hyogo, Japan

Saturday, January 25, 2020 - 15:00

Esa-Pekka Salonen conductor

Sayaka Shoji violin

SIBELIUS The Oceanides

SHOSTAKOVICH Violin Concerto No. 1


STRAVINSKY The Rite of Spring

Our Principal Conductor Esa-Pekka Salonen conducts a programme of poetic masterpieces, including Sibelius's The Oceanides and Stravinsky's The Rite of Spring. These two great works frame Shostakovich's Violin Concerto, performed by Sayaka Shoji.

Across his creative life Stravinsky was continually exploring new ways of presenting ritual through music in order to make it relevant to his own time. Most famously in The Rite of Spring, premiered on the eve of the First World War, the listener is confronted with a powerful and frightening spectacle of human sacrifice. 

Hyogo Performing Arts Centre, 2-22 Takamatsu-cho, Nishinomiya-shi, Hyogo, 28, 663-8204
Part of: