Philharmonia Orchestra - Japan: Salonen Conducts Stravinsky

Tokyo Metropolitan Concert Hall, Tokyo, Japan

Thursday, January 23, 2020 - 19:00

Esa-Pekka Salonen conductor

Truls Mørk cello

RAVEL Le tombeau de Couperin



STRAVINSKY The Rite of Spring

We begin our tour of Japan with a programme of Ravel, Stravinksy, and Salonen's own Cello Concerto, performed by Truls Mørk.

Esa-Pekka Salonen wrote his Cello Concerto for his friend Yo-Yo Ma, who gave its first performances in 2017. With a conductor’s insight into the inner workings of the orchestra and a characteristically fearless attitude to innovation, Salonen has created a piece that stretches the cellist’s technique to its limits and holds the listener’s attention from start to finish.

Across his creative life Stravinsky was continually exploring new ways of presenting ritual through music in order to make it relevant to his own time. Most famously in The Rite of Spring, premiered on the eve of the First World War, the listener is confronted with a powerful and frightening spectacle of human sacrifice. 

But first, our Principal Conductor will conduct Ravel's Le tombeau de Couperin. 

Tokyo Metropolitan Concert Hall, 1-8-1 Nishi-ikebukuro, Toshima-ku, Tokyo, 13, 171-0021
Part of: