Stravinsky Ballet Music conducted by Sir Simon Rattle (online)

-, -, Nationwide, United Kingdom

Thursday, April 9, 2020 - 19:15 to 22:00

Each Sunday and Thursday (from 22 March) we will be streaming a concert from our archive on our YouTube channel.

We will provide digital programme notes and we hope that you will be able to sit down and watch at the same time as friends and family, wherever they are.

Remember to get in touch on Instagram, Facebook and Twitter using the #AlwaysPlaying and show us your living room concert halls.

Thursday 9 April 2020, 7.30pm BST
Stravinsky ballet music

  • STRAVINSKY - The Firebird (original ballet)
  • Interval
  • STRAVINSKY - Petrushka (1947 version)
  • Interval
  • STRAVINSKY - The Rite of Spring

The London Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Sir Simon Rattle, performs Stravinsky's famous ballet scores, originally broadcast from the Barbican Centre in London on Sunday 24 September 2017.

Digital programme notes are available here

Sir Simon Rattle: conductor London Symphony Orchestra

An authority on Stravinsky, new Music Director Sir Simon Rattle continues the 2017/18 season opening celebrations with three of the composer’s revolutionary ballets. Stravinsky sent shockwaves through classical music in the 20th century.

His first three ballets – The Firebird, Petrushka and The Rite of Spring, all composed between 1911 and 1913 – brought a new and frenzied sense of rhythm, so distressing to audiences that it caused uproar; The Rite of Spring even caused a riot. And it’s not hard to see why.

Is there any moment in music more demonic than the opening to The Firebird, a terrifying rumble of strings that would make Jaws tremble? There are few pieces more unsettling than The Rite of Spring with its carnal, tribal rhythms; or Petrushka with its impish Punch and Judy puppets. Sir Simon Rattle brings these three creations to life in this dramatic programme.

United Kingdom
-, -, -