Apply for the first round of Culture Recovery Fund for culture organisations

Details on the first round of funding from the Culture Recovery Fund, how it is to be distributed and how to apply. 

As part of the Culture Recovery Fund, grants of up to £3 million will protect important cultural assets and ensure arts and heritage continues to play a key role in levelling up the country. This first round of funding is £622 million divided between different 

The British Film Institute, Arts Council England, Historic England and the National Lottery Heritage Fund have published guidance today on how they will judge and distribute applications. Organisations should visit the websites of their relevant specialist bodies for further details. Links below:

A new independent Culture Recovery Board will be chaired by Sir Damon Buffini to help administer the programme, advising on the largest grant as well deciding the beneficiaries of the £270 million repayable finance element of the £1.57 billion package.

In this first round of funding £622 million will be distributed. Arts Council England will oversee £500 million to support institutions across the arts and cultural sector including theatres, music and comedy venues and museums. This allocation includes £2.25 million in targeted immediate, emergency support for grassroots music venues, which was announced last week.

Independent cinemas will be able to apply to the British Film Institute’s £30 million grant scheme. The National Lottery Heritage Fund and Historic England will deliver £92 million worth of grants to protect heritage sites.

The remaining £258 million will be reserved for a second round of funding later in the financial year to meet the developing needs of organisations.

Successful applicants for grants will need to have an innovative plan for how they will operate and be sustainable for the remainder of this financial year, and be able to demonstrate their international, national or local significance. Smaller organisations must show how they benefit their local community and area.

Full list of board members on the Culture Recovery Board

  • Independent Chair: Sir Damon Buffini
  • Commissioner for Cultural Recovery and Renewal - Neil Mendoza
  • Arts Council England - Sir Nicholas Serota, Chair of Arts Council England
  • Historic England - Sir Laurie Magnus, Chair of Historic England
  • National Lottery Heritage Fund - Rene Olivieri, Chair of NLHF
  • British Film Institute - Jay Hunt, BFI Governor (Board Member)
  • DCMS - Emma Squire, Director for Arts, Heritage and Tourism

Independent Board members:

  • Claire Whitaker
  • Baroness Kate Fall
  • Hemant Patel
  • Samir Shah
Back to stories

About the Author