Apply for the latest round of the Culture Recovery Fund for arts and culture organisations

Details on the current round of funding from the Culture Recovery Fund, how it is to be distributed and how to apply. 

As part of the Culture Recovery Fund, grants of up to £3 million will protect important cultural assets and ensure arts and heritage continues to play a key role in levelling up the country.

The British Film Institute, Arts Council England, Historic England and the National Lottery Heritage Fund have published guidance today on how they will judge and distribute applications. Organisations should visit the websites of their relevant specialist bodies for further details. Links below:

A new independent Culture Recovery Board is being chaired by Sir Damon Buffini to help administer the programme, advising on the largest grant as well deciding the beneficiaries of the £270 million repayable finance element of the £1.57 billion package.

In the first round of the Culture Recovery Fund, funding was distributed across the arts and cultural sector including totheatres, music and comedy venues and museums. This allocation included £3.36 million (increased from £2.25 million originally announced) in targeted immediate, emergency support for grassroots music venues, which saved 135 venues from impending closure.

Successful applicants for grants will need to have an innovative plan for how they will operate and be sustainable for the remainder of this financial year, and be able to demonstrate their international, national or local significance. Smaller organisations must show how they benefit their local community and area.

Full list of board members on the Culture Recovery Board

  • Independent Chair: Sir Damon Buffini
  • Commissioner for Cultural Recovery and Renewal - Neil Mendoza
  • Arts Council England - Sir Nicholas Serota, Chair of Arts Council England
  • Historic England - Sir Laurie Magnus, Chair of Historic England
  • National Lottery Heritage Fund - Rene Olivieri, Chair of NLHF
  • British Film Institute - Jay Hunt, BFI Governor (Board Member)
  • DCMS - Emma Squire, Director for Arts, Heritage and Tourism

Independent Board members:

  • Claire Whitaker
  • Baroness Kate Fall
  • Hemant Patel
  • Samir Shah
Back to stories

About the Author