First London Borough of Culture winners announced for 2019 and 2020

Inspired by the UK City and European Capital of Culture programmes, the London Borough of Culture award offers £1.35 million of funding across two years between two boroughs. The funding is for staging an ambitious cultural programme and a strategy to imbed culture into the future of the borough.

The winners from 22 boroughs who submitted bids are:

  • Waltham Forest for 2019
  • Brent for 2020

Six other boroughs will share a pot of £850,000 for landmark projects which were highlighted in their entry bids. These are:

  • Barking & Dagenham
  • Camden
  • Kingston
  • Lambeth
  • Lewisham
  • Merton 

The award aims to reward boroughs for placing communities at the heart of decision-making and programming for cultural activity.

An exhibition, which features images and content from the bidding boroughs, is now open to the public at City Hall. 

This free exhibition will reveal a snapshot of local culture from the 22 bids received for the award. It will be on display until 13 March 2018 and is open from 8.30am until 5.30pm, Monday to Friday.

Image from Mayor of London website at


Back to stories

About the Author